Maida’s Little Lighthouse
August 16, 2018
As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride
August 16, 2018

The Enchanted April

Quick Glance

9

incidents


This is the total number of incidents in this 240 page book.

Author: Elizabeth von Arnim
Key Words: Classics, Fiction, Comedy, Humor, Romance

Buy the same copy we read, here on Amazon


Book Description:

Four very different women, looking to escape dreary London for the sunshine of Italy, take up an offer advertised in the Times for a “small medieval Italian Castle on the shores of the Mediterranean to be let furnished for the month of April.” As each blossoms in the warmth of the Italian spring, quite unexpected changes occur.

An immediate bestseller upon its first publication, in 1922, The Enchanted April set off a craze for tourism to the Italian Riviera that continues today. Published here to coincide with a contemporary retelling, Enchanted August by Brenda Bowen, it’s a witty ensemble piece and the perfect romantic rediscovery for fans of Jess Walter’s Beautiful Ruins and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love as well as of Downton Abbey and the hit movie The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

 
51SK+-Lv4dL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

We read this version of the book. Get the same one here on Amazon.

Profanity

Mild Obscenities & Substitutions - 2 Incidents

"d*mn" and "*ss" were used several times.

Violence - None

Conversation Topics - 2 Incidents

A woman smokes cigarettes.

Mentions some alcohol.

Please Note

I listened to the audio version of this book so this Cleanliness Report is not as thoroughly detailed as other reports are. Some inappropriate content may have been forgotten/missed and not included in the report.

Sexual Content

Lust - 2 Incidents

A man has a crush on a married woman (he does not know she's married and his affections change before declaring anything).

A married man, who has become estranged from his wife, is falling for a beautiful lady (this and their marriage are righted).

Making Out/Sex - 1 Incident

Very light kissing between a husband and wife.

Miscellaneous - 2 Incidents

A man writes books about the mistresses of royalty - his wife does not approve of these filthy books.

A man has only a towel wrapped around him for one scene.

parallax background
books-1204029_1920

The Library

PERUSE THE SHELVES.

See what other titles we have packed into our Library.
You'll be sure to find something for every reading mood.

Browse Here