March
June 2, 2016
1968
June 2, 2016

Lost in a Good Book

Quick Glance

45

incidents


This is the total number of profanity incidents in this 412 page book.

*Sexual and Violence incidents coming soon! We'll change this number once these incidents are included.

Author: Jasper Fforde
Key Words: Mystery, Fantasy

Buy the same edition we reviewed, here On Amazon


Book Description:

The second installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England The inventive, exuberant, and totally original literary fun that began with The Eyre Affair continues with New York Times bestselling author Jasper Fforde’s magnificent second adventure starring the resourceful, fearless literary sleuth Thursday Next. When Landen, the love of her life, is eradicated by the corrupt multinational Goliath Corporation, Thursday must moonlight as a Prose Resource Operative of Jurisfiction—the police force inside the BookWorld. She is apprenticed to the man-hating Miss Havisham from Dickens’s Great Expectations, who grudgingly shows Thursday the ropes. And she gains just enough skill to get herself in a real mess entering the pages of Poe’s “The Raven.” What she really wants is to get Landen back. But this latest mission is not without further complications. Along with jumping into the works of Kafka and Austen, and even Beatrix Potter’s The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, Thursday finds herself the target of a series of potentially lethal coincidences, the authenticator of a newly discovered play by the Bard himself, and the only one who can prevent an unidentifiable pink sludge from engulfing all life on Earth. It’s another genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment for fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with The Well of Lost Plots. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!

 

We reviewed this edition of the book. Get the same one here on Amazon.

Profanity

Mild Obscenities & Substitutions - 25 Incidents

d**fus, cr*p, d*mn*d, h*ll

Anatomical Terms - 2 Incidents

*rse

Scatological Terms - 12 Incidents

sh*thole, sh*tty, p*ssed, bullsh*t, f*rt, sh*t

Religious Profanities - None

Derogatory Terms - 6 Incidents

p*ll*ck, h*m*, b*st*rd, cr*cker

Violence

Coming Soon

Sexual Content

Lust

Coming Soon

Making Out/Sex

Coming Soon

Homosexuality

Coming Soon

Miscellaneous

Coming Soon

Conversation Topics

10 Topics - 38 mentions of those topics

witches, corpse, ghost, skull, kill, murder, beer, alcohol, cigarette, drunk

parallax background
books-1204029_1920

The Library

PERUSE THE SHELVES.

See what other titles we have packed into our Library.
You'll be sure to find something for every reading mood.

Browse Here